Saturday, March 26, 2011

UPDATES - March 24, 2011

NOD32 - Update 5981 (20110324)
2011-03-24 12:14
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-5981?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 1 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.101.20.0
Released: Mar 24, 2011 05:30 AM UTC
Microsoft Security Essentials Version:2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 2 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.101.54.0
Released: Mar 24, 2011 01:30 PM UTC
Microsoft Security Essentials Version:2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 3 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Latest definition version: 1.101.77.0
Released: Mar 24, 2011 09:30 PM UTC
Microsoft Security Essentials Version:2.0.657.0
Engine Version: 1.1.6603.0
Antimalware Client Version:3.0.8107.0
https://www.microsoft.com/security/portal/Definitions/HowToMSE.aspx
http://www.microsoft.com/security_essentials/

Reply 4 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

TrojanHunter Ruleset Update - Mar 23, 2011 (2)
You should have 373275 rules
http://www.misec.net/forum/board/RulesetUpdates/1300939268

Reply 5 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

TrojanHunter Ruleset Update - Mar 24, 2011
You should have 373660 rules
http://www.misec.net/forum/board/RulesetUpdates/1300979863

Reply 6 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

What's New:

1. Tray menu re-built.
2. New popup dialog on new "Program Files" folder making by untrusted process.
3. "Untrusted Applications", "Rollback", "Firewall" and "Defense Excludes" dialog's lists are much faster.
4. Untrusted status visualization with Windows Explorer.
5. Whitelist is enhanced.
6. Two BSOD issues solved.
7. Minor security and compatibility issues solved.

http://softsphere.com/news/
http://softsphere.com/downloads/

Reply 7 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Version 20110323 - March 23, 2011
https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/wot-safe-browsing-tool/

Reply 8 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Date: 3/24/2011
Database version: 6151
Fingerprints loaded: 315642
http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Reply 9 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Date: 3/24/2011
Database version: 6158
Fingerprints loaded: 315920
http://malwarebytes.org/mbam.php
http://www.malwarebytes.org/

Reply 10 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Latest ClamAV? stable release is: 0.97
ClamAV Virus Databases:
main.cvd ver. 53 released on 14 Nov 2010 09:58 :0500 (sig count: 846214)
daily.cvd ver. 12899 released on 24 Mar 2011 07:04 :0400 (sig count: 80264)
bytecode.cvd ver. 142 released on 08 Mar 2011 13:28 :0500 (sig count: 40)
safebrowsing.cvd ver. 28173 released on 24 Mar 2011 06:45 :0400 (sig count: 694012)

http://www.clamav.net/

Reply 11 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

The latest iAVS update was published on: 24.03.2011 - 110324-0
http://www.avast.com/download-update
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

Reply 12 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

The latest iAVS update was published on: 24.03.2011 - 110324-1
http://www.avast.com/download-update
http://www.avast.com/virus-update-history

Reply 13 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

CA AV Definitions v36.1.4256 (Engine Version 36.1.8233)
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/detail.aspx?CID=51155
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/default.aspx

Reply 14 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

CA AV Definitions v36.1.4257 (Engine Version 36.1.8234)
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/detail.aspx?CID=51155
http://www.ca.com/us/securityadvisor/virusinfo/signaturefiles/default.aspx

Reply 15 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Update time: Thu Mar 24 15:25:08 2011
Signature number: 6609366
Update time GMT: 1300965908
Version: 7.36756
http://download.bitdefender.com/updates/bitdefender_v9/plugins/update.txt

Reply 16 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Update time: Thu Mar 24 22:13:07 2011
Signature number: 6610409
Update time GMT: 1300990387
Version: 7.36761
http://download.bitdefender.com/updates/bitdefender_v9/plugins/update.txt

Reply 17 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

What's New:

- Added support for Internet Explorer 9.
- Added support for Firefox 4.0.
- Added Internet Explorer Cached Feeds cleaning.
- Added Internet Explorer Add-ons Statistics cleaning.
- Added iTunes cookie management.
- Added Opera cleaning for saved/opened directories paths.
- Improved Firefox/Mozilla Saved Password cleaning.
- Improved Intelligent cookie keeping functionality.
- Improved Registry cleaning for Obsolete Software.
- Improved Registry cleaning for Unused File Extensions.
- Added Registry cleaner for Windows Services.
- Added cleaning for obsolete Firewall Rules.
- Added detection of invalid Browser Helper Objects.
- Added new environment variables for user documents. (i.e. %CommonDocuments%, %CommonMusic%, %CommonPictures%, %CommonVideo%, %MyDocuments%, %Documents%, %MyMusic%, %Music%, %MyPictures%, %Pictures%, %MyVideo%, %Video%).
- Added cleaning for Adobe Air, Advanced Searchbar, Steam, Xfire, Skype, AOL Instant Messenger, Camfrog Video Chat, Miranda Instant Messenger, Pidgin, Yahoo Messenger, ooVoo, TeamSpeak, Ventrilo Client, Ventrilo Server, FrostWire, uTorrent, Shareaza, iMesh, BearShare, DC++ and Ares.

http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/version-history

Download
http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download

Download (Portable and Installer)
http://www.ccleaner.com/download/builds

Note: Have not seen the slim version at their website lately.

Note: If you download the full version, the Google Chrome Browser (or toolbar) MAY BE prechecked.You do not need that for the program so uncheck it if you do not want it.

Reply 18 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

March 24, 2011
http://www.grisoft.com/us.download-update
http://free.avg.com/us-en/download-update

Reply 19 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Version: 7.11.05.63
Date: Thursday, March 24, 2011
Time: 4:54 PM GMT+01:00
http://www.avira.com/en/pages/index.php
http://www.avira.com/en/threats/section/vdfhistory/index.html

Reply 20 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Definitions 8805 - March 24, 2011
http://research.sunbelt-software.com/
http://www.sunbeltsecurity.com/definitions.aspx

Reply 21 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

149.652 - Ad-Aware 8.2

150.337 - Ad-Aware 9.xx, 8.3. - March 24, 2011

MD5 checksum for Ad-Aware core.aawdef is 05b18bf097e2ab1246036ea58a2320a3
http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/securitycenter/blog/definition-file-update-for-adaware-112

Reply 22 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

149.653 - Ad-Aware 8.2

150.338 - Ad-Aware 9.xx, 8.3. - March 24, 2011

MD5 checksum for Ad-Aware core.aawdef is 05b18bf097e2ab1246036ea58a2320a3
http://www.lavasoft.com/mylavasoft/securitycenter/blog/definition-file-update-for-adaware-113

Reply 23 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Last updated: 2011-03-24 18:31:
http://www.emsisoft.com/a2/changelog/personal//?showmalware=updates
http://www.emsisoft.com/en/support/malware/

Reply 24 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Definition updates for Quick Heal Pro 2011 Daily Updates
Virus Database: 24 March 2011
http://www.quickheal.co.in/updates.asp

Reply 25 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Virus Signature File
Thursday, 24 March 2011
http://www.pandasecurity.com/homeusers/downloads/clients/?

Reply 26 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Core Definitions 6669- 03/24/2011 10:51AM PDT
Trace Definitions 4481- 03/24/2011 10:51AM PDT
http://www.superantispyware.com/definitions.html

Reply 27 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

2011-03-24 17:32
http://www.eset.eu/podpora/aktualizacia-5983?lng=en
http://www.eset.eu/support/update-xy1

Reply 28 : UPDATES - March 24, 2011

Daily Updates
Symantec Endpoint Protection 11
Norton AntiVirus 2008 and newer

Virus Definitions created 3/24/2011
Virus Definitions released 3/24/2011
Defs Version: 130324p
Sequence Number: 121500
Extended Version: 3/24/2011 rev. 16
Total Detections (Threats & Risks): 11056564

Multiple Daily Updates
Symantec Endpoint Protection 11
Norton AntiVirus 2008 and newer

Virus Definitions created 3/24/2011
Virus Definitions released 3/24/2011
Defs Version: 130324p
Sequence Number: 121500
Extended Version: 3/24/2011 rev. 16
Total Detections (Threats & Risks): 11056564
http://www.symantec.com/business/security_response/definitions/download/index.jsp

Surge Protectors/ Power Conditioners

Hello everyone! Recently I've been reading articles about Power Conditioners, but most importantly: their ability to improve audio/video performance through noise reduction. I DON'T NEED further explanation of the topic, I simply want to know if anyone has had any experience with them. Do they improve video/audio performance-quality? How noticeable is this difference? Which power conditioners would you recommend, regardless of price? I want to make it clear that I prefer to hear about your experiences and not what other people have convinced you guys to think...I still get people that try to convince me that my M1000 Monster HDMI cable work just as well as $10 cables from Wal-Mart, but through experience I've come to think otherwise...Thanks everyone!

Reply 1 : Surge Protectors/ Power Conditioners

You *don't* need explanation of the topic, but want to know if they improve AV performance(?) Sort of odd, wouldn't you agree?

Perhaps you have some pre-conceived ideas already. I won't spoil those notions for you.

If you do a forum search this topic has pretty much been beaten up badly. Other AV centered forums discuss it as well.

Hint: if you ever want to test out a theory, do it yourself. Do a side-by-side comparison using two different types of HDMI cables, or both with and without a conditioner (etc.).
You comment regarding cables tells me you haven't done enough tests with various cable brands.

Wireless preblem

I have a N600 Wireless Dual Band USB Adapter WNDA3100 and am trying to use it to establish a connection with our wireless network which the router for that is a Linksys WRT54GL Wireless-G Router when i press the button on the adapter it goes to a first time connection screen with a 2 minute countdown I go to the router and it has a cisco button for a secure connection it flashes white when i press it ive held for as long as 5 sec and nothing the adapter wont connect are they just not compatible?

Reply 1 : Wireless preblem

As long as the USB adapter is correctly installed on the computer, RIGHT click on the wireless icon in the system tray, choose "View available wireless networks". When the window pops up, select the name of the Lynksys router from the listing, then click on "Connect".. If the network is a secure network, you'll be asked for a password, which you need to type twice. Click on "Connect" or OK and it should connect correctly and securely.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Friday, March 25, 2011

5850 Driver or Hardware Problem

I installed Crysis 2 yesterday through Steam, and when I run it, my computer freezes and crashes during one of the very beginning loading screens. If I remember correctly, it is the Crytek screen. To fix this, I have to manually shut down my computer. I had a similar problem when I first got my M15x, which was solved by a driver update. I updated my drivers to 11.2, and tried again. This didn't work. I then updated to 11.4, which also did not work. My system specifications are: i7 740qm CPU, 5850 GPU, 8gb 1333mhz RAM. Please don't hesitate to ask anything else that may help find a solution. Thanks in advance!



Valantic

Reply 1 : 5850 Driver or Hardware Problem

is this happening in any other game????

crysis 2 seems to have lots and lots of bugs:



http://segmentnext.com/2011/03/23/cr...zes-and-fixes/



i bought the retail disk version and everything has been good so far, but haven't had time to play with it much yet

Inspiron 1525 Windows 7 ??

I've searched and can find bits and pieces, but I just wanted to know if anyone is running Windows 7 32-bit on an Inspiron 1525? Did you have any issues with drivers since Dell doesn't list Windows 7 drivers for the 1525, only Vista.



I would think that Windows 7 installs most of the drivers, but not all. Just looking for feedback. Thanks

Reply 1 : Inspiron 1525 Windows 7 ??

Vista drivers are compatible with 7 (driver model is near identical) IF Windows 7 doesn't already all find the drivers.

Reply 2 : Inspiron 1525 Windows 7 ??

That is what I was thinking. I had also saw someone that used some of the 1545 drivers if part was from same manufacturer. Thanks

Reply 3 : Inspiron 1525 Windows 7 ??


Quote:








Originally Posted by wolfej
View Post

That is what I was thinking. I had also saw someone that used some of the 1545 drivers if part was from same manufacturer. Thanks



1525 is Santa Rosa while 1545 is Montevina so the Intel GMA drivers would be different.

Lost disk space!!

I have already read the previous thread about the Windows folder and its massive size. My windows folder seems to be taking up allot of room, 19gb actually. However, when i search the files, hidden files and all, I find that there is no one file larger than 3gb. In fact all the files total to be about 6gb including the hidden ones. Where is the extra 12gb? Could it be that the pie chart telling me about hard drive space is wrong? Btw I have only one partition on my hard drive.

I want to order the sale price

I want to order the Norton Security for $20 less than the normal price. It says on sale on the screen but when you chose it. It says 69.00. I can't pay that. I need to talk on the phone with someone who will tell me what to do. If I click download will it eventually give me the sale price? I need to know now not in an hour. I can't use the computer until I buy this.

Reply 1 : I want to order the sale price

download people that you want to talk to maybe?

That forum is here
http://forums.cnet.com/download-site-feedback-forum/

This Spyware forum has no control whatsoever with what is going on with downloads.

Reply 2 : I want to order the sale price

That way I'll be safe and since the regular price is the same. Thanks for the forum link. It made me decide not to partipate here.

Reply 3 : I want to order the sale price

They don't need to be paid for and make work better than you think. Google any of the words below to find the free downloads. :

Avira

Avast

AVG

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 4 : I want to order the sale price

Fuldecka..

They don't provide a telephone number, but they do have a call back service. You will have to fill out the below form first. Make sure to use the dropdown menu at very the bottom and choose, "A query about a promotion or rebate".

https://www.suth.com/symantec/CreateOnlineCSTicket.asp?pvid=cs

It seems as though, they do advertise a $20 discount. But as you say, but when you choose it, the discount isn't reflected. It may be an older ad. confused

Best of luck..
Carol

Wednesday, March 23, 2011

Computer Crashing

Recently, I formatted my C drive to get rid of a virus destroying my computer. I reinstalled Windows 7 and everything is working perfectly, except for two things:

First, the Aero color scheme crashes my computer within fifteen minutes of using it, so I have to use Windows 7 Basic. Also, in the Personalize window, the thumbnails for all Aero schemes are just black boxes.

Second, whenever I play a video anywhere--on Youtube, in Windows Media Player, in iTunes--the computer crashes in the same way.

When it crashes, the screen freezes and the colors go all out of whack, sometimes into the negative--for instance, the Windows toolbar turns from blue to pink. This is a picture I found on Flickr; it is similar to this, but less so and more colorful.

http://farm3.static.flickr.com/2340/1591788254_ae0d15d53c.jpg

I think it's a graphics card problem, so I uninstalled and reinstalled the driver a couple times, but no luck.

Specs:
HP Pavilion Elite m9180f
Nvidia 8800 GT
Windows 7 x64 SP1
4 GB RAM
Intel Quad CPU Q6700 2.66 GHz

batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial

So i downloaded Batman AA off steam, onto my m11x, but when i try to activate the game it says serial invalid, anyone else have this problem?

Reply 1 : batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial

Open a ticket with Steam, I've never had this happen myself.

Reply 2 : batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial

how do i do that?



Mi code not work - Steam Users' Forums

^^ seems like i wasnt the only one. stupid steam

Reply 3 : batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial


Quote:








Originally Posted by SParky323
View Post

how do i do that?



https://support.steampowered.com/newticket.php

Reply 4 : batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial

My code worked....and game plays really well on my i5 R2...Since I own a wired 360 controller it's like having a portable 360.

Reply 5 : batman arkham asylum, steam sold me invalid serial

Post it on Steam forum and send email to them.

There is no way that they are not going to give you a valid serial.

It has nothing to do with M11x forum..

Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

i cannot find my recycle bin

Reply 1 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

Happened to me too but I have Windows Vista. I inadvertently deleted my recycle bin instead of its contents, maybe you did the same. Try this- (1) Right click your desktop. (2) from the list select Personalize. (3) From the left pane of the personalization window select change desktop icons. (4) In the Desktop Icon Settings Window clear and then check the recycle bin checkbox, click apply, and OK. Hope it works

Reply 2 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

THANK FOR YOUR HELP

Reply 3 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

It works well. Thank you for your help

Reply 4 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

missing

Reply 5 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

- Where are you looking?
- In Windows Explorer, do you see a folder RECYCLER? It could be a hidden folder, so set Tools>Folder Options to show hidden and system files temporarily. That's the recycle bin.
- Do you get an error message if you delete a file so it should be put in the recycle bin?

Two links that might be useful:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/810869
http://digi-soft.blogspot.com/2008/01/how-to-hideun-hide-recycle-bin-icon-on.html

Kees

Reply 6 : Recycle Bin missing i cannot find my recycle bin

GERITS1, If you're using Windows XP go to the link below and scroll down to line 64 (right column) and click on "Replace/Repair the Recycle Bin in Windows XP" to download a reg file fix. Save the REG File to your hard disk. Double click it and answer yes to the import prompt.

http://www.kellys-korner-xp.com/xp_tweaks.htm

Tufenuf

Camera with a good built-in speaker.

I am a musician and I video myself and watch it on the camera during practice. Is there a camera with a good speaker built in and, if not, is there a camera to which I could attach some speakers or headphones?

Reply 1 : Camera with a good built-in speaker.

These are actually small video cameras like the Flip, but they add high quality stereo mics. They are very popular with musicians because of the high quality sound. You can see examples of the video and sound on YouTube.

http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=2020

http://www.samsontech.com/products/productpage.cfm?prodID=2062&brandID=4

Reply 2 : Camera with a good built-in speaker.

Thanks for the recommendation. It looks like a great camera. I was wondering, as I saw nothing on the site: how is the sound coming straight out of the camera as you are watching? Do the camera's speakers give a decent sound? I'd like to just record and watch and listen to it immediately.

Reply 3 : Camera with a good built-in speaker.

They both have a built-in speaker. I do not own either, but I imagine the sound is not great because the speaker would be tiny. There is of course an input for headphones.

Office for Mac 2011 - Family pack

So I got my hands on the family pack for about $110 (single license was $130) and only need it on the 1 Mac I got. Can I do anything with the other 2 license/user abilities?

Reply 1 : Office for Mac 2011 - Family pack

Under the terms of your licence, all three computers have to be in the same household.

Reply 2 : Office for Mac 2011 - Family pack

Well that sums that up. Thanks

Plastic retaining clips for ribbon to motherboard attachment required

Hello

I am looking for a couple of plastic retaining clips/clasps/clamps which attach the ribbon cables from the keyboard and touchpad to the motherboard.

Can any kind soul possibly help out?

Thanks

Desktop Graphics Card Questions

Hi. I have a few short questions about desktop graphics cards, since I have only ever really used laptops. I was considering building myself a desktop at some point in the future.



So firstly, can you put desktop graphics cards in to crossfire/sli yourself? So if I bought a graphics card, then could I buy another of the same card later + combine them? Or do they have to be bought together?



And, secondly, are all graphics cards compatible with all motherboards/processors? (assuming they can be connected correctly)



Also, what would be the minimum you would have to spend to get a graphics card which would run all current games (including metro/crysis) at 40+ fps? 200? And what would be the minimum I would have to spend to build a desktop with the same requirements? around 600?



Thanks

Reply 1 : Desktop Graphics Card Questions

Almost all laptops (including the one in your sig) cannot have their graphics card upgraded (despite being "discrete" GPUs, they are soldered to the motherboard in the vast majority of laptops), and somewhere around 2-3 current laptops support dual graphics cards, all of them costing well over $2000. No current single laptop GPU can max out Crysis 1 or Metro 2033 (DX11) at 40FPS. You'd have to buy one of those dual GPU laptops for that. I think you should stick to desktops for gaming.

Reply 2 : Desktop Graphics Card Questions


Quote:








Originally Posted by City Pig
View Post

Almost all laptops (including the one in your sig) cannot have their graphics card upgraded, and somewhere around 2-3 current laptops support dual graphics cards, all of them costing well over $2000. No current single laptop GPU can max out Crysis 1 or Metro 2033 (DX11) at 40FPS. You'd have to buy one of those dual GPU laptops for that. I think you should stick to desktops for gaming.



I was talking about desktops actually. I'll make it more clear.



And my current laptop can get about 20/25 fps in metro 2033 in max settings

Reply 3 : Desktop Graphics Card Questions

As this is a notebook forum, this would be best served in our sister site, desktop review.



Desktop Reviews - PC Reviews and Desktop Computer Buying Guide

Need to do factory reset/reboot on laptop but Cd-rom broke

I was doing factory reset with software when CD rom grinded and stopped. Now computer will not boot. I need to do reboot but cannot run software. If I get an external cdrom drive, will the computer run the cd to complete the factory reset?

Reply 1 : Need to do factory reset/reboot on laptop but Cd-rom broke

Hi u can reboot with an external rom, the only thing is you need to know is what format of disc you are using ie dvd or cd rom, but it is real easy to take out the old drive and fit a new one you dont have to take the laptop apart and at most undo 3 screws and cheep as chips on ebay and just note the make reguards steve

Reply 2 : Need to do factory reset/reboot on laptop but Cd-rom broke

drive but if you provided the manufacturer, model and model number of the laptop we might even be able to help you restore to factory config from the recovery partition if it has one.

Tuesday, March 22, 2011

Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?

...down the road?



Just curious

Reply 1 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?

I haven't seen much on upgrading the GT680s yet although their based on the gx660 platform which is exceedingly easy to get into and replace the CPU, GPU, Drives, Memory, etc.



For example a number of people are putting 920qm cpus in the 660s instead of upgrading to the 680 sinc the 920 performance is good and the chips are cheaper these days.



You also have the option of going raid striping or SSD+HD which is somewhat unusual on a 15.6" notebook.

Reply 2 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?

I would say 99.9% yes.



Even the old gx610 and midrange gaming models like the ge600 and ex600 used MXM.



I believe they are the only brand that still uses MXM and is not entirely boutique, this fact really makes me look down on MXM-upgrade.com for how much info they have.

Reply 3 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?

Just ask my friend who is a MSI notebook reseller, the answer is positive.



For 470/480/485/570/580M, you need another powered adaptor, which is 180W

However, 480/485/580 still need some modification for heat pipes.



For 560M will be fit because next version of 680 serious will use this card, which will re released by June!!

Reply 4 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by GOURRYNSX
View Post

Just ask my friend who is a MSI notebook reseller, the answer is positive.



For 470/480/485/570/580M, you need another powered adaptor, which is 180W

However, 480/485/580 still need some modification for heat pipes.



For 560M will be fit because next version of 680 serious will use this card, which will re released by June!!



Wow, that's great news.



So we have AW/Sager/MSI that has upgradable video cards now.



Most excellent!



Asus seems to be the only one holding out in the gaming laptop market.

Reply 5 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by GOURRYNSX
View Post

Just ask my friend who is a MSI notebook reseller, the answer is positive.



For 470/480/485/570/580M, you need another powered adaptor, which is 180W

However, 480/485/580 still need some modification for heat pipes.



For 560M will be fit because next version of 680 serious will use this card, which will re released by June!!



Say, youre friend wouldn't be able to sell us some motherboards or barebone systems, would they?

Reply 6 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by niffcreature
View Post

Say, youre friend wouldn't be able to sell us some motherboards or barebone systems, would they?



Well, his store is in Taiwan. He doesn't sell barebone system, but he loves to help his customer to do laptop modification. For me, I will pass by Taiwan and his store in July. So, I'll see what he can do for me :P



Ref.

Google 470/480/485/570/580, you will find this guy and the question I asked.

I also asked the 6970M in this wild horse, but it seems that he doesn't have the card with him, so he can't answer my question.



Btw, he also open a review with this wild horse.



http://translate.google.com/translat...%26prmd%3Divns

Reply 7 : Can You Upgrade the GT680's Video Card?


Quote:








Originally Posted by Voodooi
View Post

So we have AW/Sager/MSI that has upgradable video cards now.



Most excellent!



Asus seems to be the only one holding out in the gaming laptop market.



MSI has been using mxm slots for a long time. Asus also uses mxm cards (sometimes they used reversed ones, but still upgradable).



Just look at the C90s, that is an old asus notebook with an MXM slot.



I'm pretty sure the G73 uses a standard mxm 3.0 tybe B slot.




Quote:








Originally Posted by GOURRYNSX
View Post

For 560M will be fit because next version of 680 serious will use this card, which will re released by June!!



I read that the 560m is a rebranded 460M.

Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I have just recently tried to leave Mochahost as my hosting server. They have taken over 3 business days to complete a simple domain transfer. Along with this they are now taking 4 days to finalize the transfer. All of this is amazing to me since the transfer is only the click of a button.

How is it that Godaddy.com can complete my transfer in less than 20 minutes yet it is taking Mochahost over 1 week to complete this same transfer?

Along with Mochahost's business practices being called into question their service is terrible as you can never get any customer service and there is never anyone in the office to answer the phone. To top this off I have had numerous days where my service has been completely out and non-functional. I would highly suggest that anyone stay away from this company. And if you are currently with them I would highly recommend you seriously consider transferring to another hosting service. If you would like a recommendation as to a great hosting service. I have found Godaddy.com to be nothing but perfect. My websites as well as email addresses have never gone down and their customer support and service is nothing but exemplary.

Please everyone stay away from Mochahost and their terrible business practices. They bring everyone else down and cause hundreds of thousands of dollars to be lost in business revenue each year. If you have also had problems with Mochahost please respond and we can then communicate.

Jason

Reply 1 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Thanks for sharing your experience Jasonillini. Hopefully you have saved people the frustration of having to deal with what you went through. I'm glad to here godaddy hosting is working well for you as I have not heard the best of reviews from them lately. I hope that your hosting experience continues to be nothing but perfect with them.

Reply 2 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Yes, I totally agree as I had the shock of my life to find an email from them stating that my account has been suspended. Prior to that their support department had verified that payment had gone through and that I owed them nothing, but billing then decided to suspend my account.

I'd advise anyone to stay well away from this company if you are in any way serious about building your online business. I would not have believed how the left hand does not know what the right hand is doing in MochaHost.

My emails are now totally been ignored by them.

Try them at your own risk! But be warned.

Reply 3 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

This is exactly what happens when you try to be cheap.

Is it worth spending few thousands dollars on design and then look for cheapest web hosting on the planet to host it ?

Reply 4 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I wanted to find a web host that supports .net 3.5 as well as sql server 2008 and i found Mochahost... ... I uhmm... don't like them very much. Whenever something breaks, the reps live chat have no idea what i'm talking abt (that can be understood cus' maybe they outsource customer support) so i always have to create a ticket (which takes forever for me to get a response). I really wish that i could find a reliable asp host that goes as far as offering sql server 2008.

Reply 5 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

- bad support (bad language, they hang up if don't know the answers to your questions)
- tried online chat instead of phone but they have:
- blocked my ip from accessing mochasupport.com, their main support site
- blocked my ip from accessing mochahost.com

no support means no more tickets, no more developing software for the site, no more control over own account with mochahost, including billing (couldn't pay bills anymore)

I decided to move to different provider, close my account with mochahost (after just 2 weeks) but they quickly locked my domain from being transfered away from them. I tried to move out after my ip was denied (see above) and after being repeatedly insulted by their customer support.

Oh, btw, to close an account with them you need to place 3 different tickets with account management, with tech support and with billing, 3 different tickets for the same purpose. If they haven't blocked you from using their ticketing system.

- I have also filed a claim with PayPal to recover loses (and it worked)
(you can do it too if unsatisfied with their service)

- filed a complaint with ICANN to recover my own domain that they are now abusively holding. THIS IS THE MOST SERIOUS OFFENSE AND CAN BE LEGALLY DISPUTED.

Since the above offense is a serious one I had my lawyer contact their lawyer and now will see what they're up to.

You been in similar situation with mochahost? need advice?
lemme know. been through all the process already, happy to help other unsatisfied customers.

Reply 6 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Hi

We were suspended by mochahost too, but only 5 months into a 2 year agreement.
No explantion given, no warning provided. We were able to get onto live help who said yes, it is suspended, but no, cannot help you. Opened a ticket and received the ticket response so we are just waiting now. Ticket feedback time is 1 hour for *most* tickets, and its already over an hour.

This issue has hit my clients image hard, as his clients are uploading their items onto his website. His reputation has been affected heavily as Japanese buyers do not go back to any poor service - ever. My own image has been shafted by this, and I really dont to receive angry phone calls asking whats wrong.

If you have any tips or help for us for what to expect from mochahost and what to do next, it would be greatly appreciated.

regards
Gregory

Reply 7 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Hello,

i have one problem with MochaHost...Yesterday i canceled my account with mochahost. They offer 30 day money back on their wehsite...How can i get my money back? I payd with PayPal.

Can u help me? Because their support sux :S

Reply 8 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I had a problem with Mochahost.

They blocked my dedicated server because "Somebody" replaced the content of one of the sites hosted in my server for Phishing.

It happened 6 days ago and I'm still waiting for an answer and my company is loosing money every day.

My lawyer has a partner in USA and, if I don't have an answer tomorrow I'll instruct him to start a legal process against them.

Is there anything I must know to be more effective?

Thanks

Florencio

Reply 9 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

No, they are completely unreasonable to deal with and lawsuits don't deter them. They're going to have to get hit hard by a judge in order to wake up and smell the unhappy customers.

Reply 10 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Oh god this company is beyond disgusting. How has it not already been shut down after 5 days of asking them why my site wasnt live, they locked me out of my site cpanel or ftp so I cannot get my data I am now up to the second day of trying to recover my site and databases

Reply 11 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

As Mochahost is not a domain name registrar but a reseller of eNom Inc., you are sure to get you domain name back. If Mochahost prevent's you from transfering, eNom Inc. responsability is engaged. As an accredited ICANN registrar, eNom Inc. has to let you transfer you domain and they will do it.

I have wrote a detailed explanation of the steps you have to go through :

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-7574_102-514870.html?tag=threadListing;forum-threads

Reply 12 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

If you are a victim of Mochahost.com that Mochahost.com had LOCKED or SUSPENDED your account preventing you from getting access to your own data, improperly suspended your account causing your websites to not function properly, had not followed their contract agreement, had SCAMMED you such as in a BAIT-AND-SWITCH scheme or FALSE ADVERTISING, DELETED your account or data, caused you financial damages and/or made false claims, such as that you had abused their TOS, in order to FORCE you to PAY MORE money to upgrade your webhosting plan, please contact the following organizations. The Santa Clara County District Attorney's office, BBB (Better Business Bureau), California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General (AG), the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) which is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), and the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA). The FBI's IC3 Unit is organized to handle internet business fraud. Also contact the police for data theft in the case Mochahost.com has prevented you access from your own data. Please also email elawcase@gmail.com with as much information as possible to develop a class action lawsuit against Mochahost.com.

Mochahost.com
2880 Zanker Rd #203
San Jose, CA 95134
(888) 816-6242 Web Site: http://www.mochahost.com
support@mochanin.com
support@mochahost.com
billing@mochahost.com
abuse@mochahost.com
support@mochasupport.com
info@mochahost.com

Reply 13 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Wow, I guess it goes to show that I should've researched more before I decided to just go with a cheap web hosting company. I sure wish now that I had seen this before I decided to sign up with MochaHost. The price seemed right, but I guess it's true that you do get what you pay for.

Apparently they haven't changed much in 3 years since your original problem with them. I signed up for a vps with a few extra IPs (4), and they gave me the third degree about why I needed extra IPs and referred to some ARIN regulations. I told them what they were for (a custom privacy app), and they said they would look into it and get back to me. Days pass, and I enquire what the status of the server is, and they just say it's in processing.

So I look up the arin regulations and it turns out they only care for ridiculously large IP pool requests like >1000 ips. So I wait several more days inquiring both via their chat and email support and their ticket system, but they keep telling me they can't help me or saying that it's processing and they will get back to me.

Well almost a week into waiting for this (arin said it should only take a few hours at the MOST, even if it were an unreasonably large number of ips which it wasn't by any stretch - most hosting companies just give you up to 8 or 10 ips, no questions asked because it's so few), I chatted with their support AGAIN to find out what was taking so long.

I had previously been told that they valued me as a customer and would finish processing my order ASAP. HOWEVER, as I'm talking to this latest support person to try and find out when I will be able to make use of my VPS, suddenly it gets shut down. Blam! Just like that. No warning, nothing, just out of the blue.

Thank goodness I didn't waste time configuring it or putting data or software onto the vps (not that I could anyway, my order hadn't been completed anyway). It seems that their policy with anyone who asks for customer support for a sales order is to shut them down - immediately, no questions asked.

I would say be VERY careful with MochaHost. If you have any mission critical app or data, I would definitely have to recommend STEER CLEAR!! It's not worth losing business to get a cheap server when the standard customer support response is to shut off your server.

Reply 14 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I use for a Mocha Linux hosting plan since the begining of this year and i'm quite satisfied with the service... for it's price. As BineCorp wrote, I didn't expect to get more than what I payed for.
When my account started, there were several problems. I never tried to phone them, just used the ticket system, forecasting 24h between sending the question and reading the response. It has always been shorter than that. I had planed 5 days to get it all working an tested and it took just that. The work time I spent was very short. There was some misunderstanding with a first level support guy and I just explained him what the problem was and suggested him to report the problem to the next support level. What he did and that solved the problem. I know it means that, as a customer, I had to contribute providing a part of the service. I don't feel offended wink

I payed 51 USD for 18 month of mostly unlimited amount, domains,... hosting and includes JSP/Tomcat. Event paying full price, it's a 100 USD a year. I don't know how much you pay technicians in your respective companies but I know how much of a professional technician work time I can buy, here (in France) for that money... May be I don't have the same (cultural ?) definition of "service". But, according to my limited experience with Mochahost, I would say their service is good since all problems were solved.

I can hear that "one week is a lot of time". It depends on the response time you expect and how you plan your projects. I would not start working with a new service provider (ISP or any other) for a job that involves any critical aspect (time, load, reliability...).

I terms of reactivity, according to my experience, I would say support and servers (Mocha plan) are slow but effective. Control through the C-Panel is good and event better since they reactivated the "Advanced DNS Zone Editor". And, within these limits, the functionalities/cost ratio is high.

Reply 15 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

If their server crash due to their operation, and they ask you to setup again your websites with new set of database, email, website, will you still say they are good?

This is what I faced now, they crashed my websites (5 websites) and all databases, and they ask me to "recreate" the database. They said it with no sense of regret.

Do read this ticket content if you still want to recommend any victims to use Mocha host service.

kean wey
Posted On: 07 Jan 2011 11:40 PM
how could u guys did it to my data?
My data insides the database is priceless!!! these are my customer's business data!!!
Restore the database server with your server backup image!
Don't tell me you guys don't have backup?
You guys are web hosting provider.
Mochahost - The online central.
How can Mocha lost customer data?
Layne S. @ Mochahost
Posted On: 08 Jan 2011 07:31 AM
Hello,
Unfortunately we do not keep backups of users databases. Please restore them from
your backup.
Thank you!
kean wey
Posted On: 08 Jan 2011 07:34 AM
I do not have data with me, all are hosted in Mochahost as you guys claimed that you
have highest standard of storage procedure and infrastructure. And you guys said that
in the event of server crash, you guys can restore with previous backup image.
Now show me, where is your backup image?
where is your backup image?
Silvester R. @
Mochahost
Posted On: 08 Jan 2011 04:39 PM
Hello,
unfortunately we do not support individual backup for any account data and databases.
kean wey
Posted On: 08 Jan 2011 11:23 PM
In conclusion, Mocha backup and storage service is SUCKS!
No, I amend my sentence, there is "NO" backup solution ever done by Mocha at all.

Reply 16 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Hello,

i have one problem with MochaHost...Yesterday i canceled my account with mochahost. They offer 30 day money back on their wehsite...How can i get my money back? I payd with PayPal.

Can u help me? Because their support sux :S
Reply

Reply 17 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Tell them the lawsuit will be amended to add your claim and converted into a class action if that's the route they want to go.

Reply 18 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Fill H.@MochaHost
Posted On: 06 Jan 2011 03:29 AM
Hello,
We are sending your request for further investigation and processing. We will update
this ticket as soon as we have more feedback or solution for you.
Thank you for your patience and business,
have a great day

kean wey
Posted On: 06 Jan 2011 03:34 AM
I had lost 1 client due to this disaster, and I not afford to have more client to
terminate service with us. We not afford to pay for our customer's lost due to their
websites down.
I want my servers to recover now.
Don't ask me to wait as I had been waiting for 24 hours since this ticket is openned
yesterday.

Max K. @ MochaHost
Posted On: 06 Jan 2011 07:34 AM
Hello,
We are sending your request for further investigation and processing. We will update
this ticket as soon as we have more feedback or solution for you.
Thank you for your patience and business,
have a great day!

kean wey
Posted On: 06 Jan 2011 07:38 AM
hey,
Fill H.@MochaHost Posted On: 06 Jan 2011 03:29 AM ------------------------------------
--------------------------------------------
Hello, We are sending your request for further investigation and processing. We will
update this ticket as soon as we have more feedback or solution for you. Thank you
for your patience and business, have a great day!
the reply is EXACTLY the same with what i receive 5 hours ago
are you guys kidding me?
are you guys actually working on the problem???
How come after so long you guys still give me such excuse?
I want my websites to back to live now!
I don't want any other excuses

Tod B. @ MochaHost
Posted On: 07 Jan 2011 05:00 AM
Hello
We deeply apologize for any inconveniences we might have caused you.
The problem you are experiencing is connected to an already known issue with the
Plesk Control Panel. This is currently one of the primary issues with which MochaHosts
Management Team is currently dealing and we would want to assure you that we are
putting every effort into resolving this situation as soon as possible.
Unfortunately, we have bad news for you. Due to the issue with the Plesk Control
Panel, your hosting data has been corrupted can not be restored to its original
condition. The issue with the construction of the software is a matter that is currently
being discussed with Parallels and we are expecting feedback on the subject from it,
however you will most probably have to rely on any backups you might have.
Because of the issue you are experiecing we would want to advise you once again to
switch to WebSite Panel, that proved to be a more stable and reliable alternative for a
control panel than Plesk.
We would also want to assure you that our customers and their experience with us is
the most important concern for MochaHost and because of that we greatly appreciate
the feedback with which you have provided us. This will greatly help us in improving
our Quality of Service and provide you with better experience in the future, should
you decide to continue doing business with us.
As a token of our appreciation we would also want to offer you a 30 days extension to
your hosting plan with us due to the difficulties we have caused you. Please notify us
if this will be a suitable solution for you.
Once again, we would want to express our deepest apologies.
Please notify us if you have further questions you might have.
We are looking forward to doing business with you in the future.
MochaHost Page 4 of 6
http://www.mochasupport.com/kayako/index.php?_m=tickets&_a=viewticket&ticketid=848... 1/8/2011
Have a nice day!
Tod B.
Customer Services Management Team
Mochahost
The Online Central

kean wey
Posted On: 07 Jan 2011 06:01 AM
"however you will most probably have to rely on any backups you might have"
I 100% rely on Mochaserver as my backup solution as you guys claimed that you
have highest standard of storage solution.
My customer work directly on the internet for data storage, website authoring.
I need my database backup file and provide me a download link for my database
backup for all my domains.
I want full refund of my money back immediately.
And till now I still cannot login into my Plesk panel?
What is the point for extend the hosting period for 30 days if I cannot login to my
plesk panel?
30 days as a compensation is nothing for me. I need my websites back to original
state. This is your fault and you cannot simply push away your responsibility and ask
me to find my OWN BACKUP.
This is the least thing I hope to retrieve right now.
I will give you 5 hours maximum to do this.
If not this ticket content and the chat message (in this attachment) will be disclosed
to all webhosting company (your competitors, ie. goDaddy, hostDepartment, winHost,
etc), web journalists, media, facebook, and I will host another website to disclose this
event to the whole world till I get my justice back.
In a nutshell, if you guys don't bring back my data, I will email the ticket message and
chat history to all hosting provider and let all of those giant company judge this case
for me!

Reply 19 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

Yeah they are full of it. They just send that standard response continuously to waste time. All of you should make formal complaints to the BBB.

Reply 20 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

It's a pity to be in such a bad situation, loosing data and clients. As I wrote before, I pay for a Linux Mocha hosting plan which costs about 80$/year. What ever any company would claim to offer for this price, i would not rely on their services for any critical application. What is such a plan good for ? I use it for non-critical web services and for temporary hosting for the project's I develop for my clients. "Temporary" until they (or I) move the application to their hosting solution or until we get a reliable hosting plan and provider that suits their specific needs. If they needs are common, it costs about 95$/year to get a "good" hosting service : 40 ms web page average response time (peak < 80ms), responsive data-base server, reliable backups (independent from hosting servers, redundant?), limited disk storage, "unlimited" bandwidth (reasonable use), 4 databases, 1 domain/unlimitted sub-domains?

At this price, you still don't have any warranty but competition between hosting providers : no max down-time, no penalties, no data loss insurance, etc. High level hosting service exist but at a price where a 100$/year is not even a tip.

There is a gap between hosting plan promises and the reality. Not every plan suits to any need. It's not just a question of Tbytes of storage, thousands of data bases, Gbits/s of bandwidth. For some needs, there are free web hosting solutions which are technically better (faster, less down time) than mochahost and other paying hosting plans. I suppose some other companies achieved a better service/cost ratio than Mochahost in the application scope I am. But I don't think there is much to gain. Marginal cost of unwarranted storage and bandwidth is mostly unsignificant. We pay for service and quality. As soon as they rely on a human workforce, it's easy to imagine what we can have for less than 100$/year. We can be disappointed. We should not be surprised?

Reply 21 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I am a MochaHost Customer and have lost all my website data last year Dec, the Customer Support is rude and are a bunch of Monkeys. A car Mechanic would do a better job at Tech Support than these guys.

I have started a blog against them to save some people from falling prey to their lucrative plans check it out at http://whynotmochahost.wordpress.com | follow me on twitter at http://www.twitter.com/whynotmochahost and just search me on FaceBook.

Help me spread the word so we can save some people from the Pain & Suffering that MochaHost causes.

You will just be wasting your time with them as they just dont CARE once you have paid the MONEY. So Save yourself.

Reply 22 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

dont leave their side, be after them to issue you a refund.

email support, send faxes to their number on their website.

They are a bunch of MoneyTechs who dont know what they are doing.

my website : http://whynotmochahost.wordpress.com
my twitter : http://twitter.com/whynotmochahost
my facebook : http://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100001944285043

Help Spread the word and save some people from MochaHosts MoneyTechs

Reply 23 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I am a Chinese national and recently had very bad experience with Mochahost.

I regret I had not read your experience earlier.

I entered into business with Mochahost in October of 2010. I designed a website with java technology and first I bought one-year agreement of the private tomcat business plan with 32M heap size. Activation of my domain took me 4 days. Then each time when I had problem I opened a ticket and got answer always one day later. I thought it was possibly because time interval between China and USA.

Less than one month later my website was stopped and I observed out of memory error and asked for upgrading to 64 heap size memory.

But the day before yesterday my website is unaccessible, but most surprizingly is that my cpanel,FTP,email all are blocked. I asked them why and 12 hours later they gave me the following answer:
----------------
Dear Client,


Your hosting account has been investigated by our administrators due to
excessive load/high resource utilization which includes high CPU utilization and memory consumption.

We have determined that based on the excessive resource utilization your
account is not a good fit for our shared hosting environment.


If you are unable to fix this problem we can offer you 2 alternative solutions:

1)Obtaining a private virtual server (VPS) account which comes with free migration (for our LINUX SERVERS) and free setup and starts around $18/month (Linux VPS) and around $30/month (Windows VPS). For more information please review http://www.mochahost.com/vps.php or

2)Obtaining a dedicated server which comes with free migration and free setup the server pricing for which you can obtain at http://www.mochahost.com/linux_dedicated_cloud.php

Please respond within 24 hours. If we do not hear back from you within 24
hours your account might be suspended to avoid further server performance degradation.

--------------------

I answered as below:

Thanks for your reply. So you mean that your staff stopped my account
without notifying me and let me doubt somebody had stolen my account
password and stopped my website running?

I do not think my website utilize too much resource. I have tracked my
website and found that everyday there are only several people visiting it,
which means little resource utilization. What is more, I have just last week
made most of my webpages static (transferring to HTML page). That means now
the website will utilize much less memory than before. But I am surprised
that just at this time you stop running my website.

At moment I have no upgrading plan. My host plan is private tomcat 64MB. I
think you can just stop running it when it utilize more than 64MB memory.
But you should not stop my entire account including the cpanel, FTP, email
system.
=========
now eight hours passed by they still did not answer me.

I do not know what I can do to get my money back. Now I really want to change to another jsp webhosting provider.

Any one has good recommendation concerning good jsp webhosting provider?

Reply 24 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

"Your hosting account has been investigated by our administrators due to
excessive load/high resource utilization which includes high CPU utilization and memory consumption."

I've seen this for years with JAVA systems. While you may not think it was too much, your web site may have been hit with some denial of service attack or your code had a bug.

It's doubtful they will debug your code or test for issues with it.

Here's my suggestion. Have your coding friends look over your code and system for issues. I know that some Japanese or Chinese culture may not like criticism of such code but computers don't understand this.
Bob

Reply 25 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

I am from Australia but I have just lodged a complaint with the FTC Bureau, more than happy to jump on a plane a testify in court against these people who have pro invoiced us as well as taken us offline with no explanation and when we mention public liability have locked us out of ftp and cpanel so we cant get our property out

Reply 26 : Do Not use MochaHost as a Web Hosting company

If you are a victim of Mochahost.com that Mochahost.com had LOCKED or SUSPENDED your account preventing you from getting access to your own data, improperly suspended your account causing your websites to not function properly, had not followed their contract agreement, had SCAMMED you such as in a BAIT-AND-SWITCH scheme or FALSE ADVERTISING, DELETED your account or data, caused you financial damages and/or made false claims, such as that you had abused their TOS, in order to FORCE you to PAY MORE money to upgrade your webhosting plan, please contact the following organizations. The Santa Clara County District Attorney's office, BBB (Better Business Bureau), California Department of Justice, Office of the Attorney General (AG), the Internet Crime Complaint Center (IC3) which is a partnership between the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), the National White Collar Crime Center (NW3C), and the Bureau of Justice Assistance (BJA). The FBI's IC3 Unit is organized to handle internet business fraud. Also contact the police for data theft in the case Mochahost.com has prevented you access from your own data. Please also email elawcase@gmail.com with as much information as possible to develop a class action lawsuit against Mochahost.com.

Mochahost.com
2880 Zanker Rd #203
San Jose, CA 95134
(888) 816-6242 Web Site: http://www.mochahost.com
support@mochanin.com
support@mochahost.com
billing@mochahost.com
abuse@mochahost.com
support@mochasupport.com
info@mochahost.com

Powerbutton and alienhead wont light up

Hey.

I have an issue with my AlienFx. My powerbutton and the back-side alienhead wont light up. All other zones are working.



Im not using morphing (just fixed color)

I tried the power-drain trick



Is there any way to get it back working?

Reply 1 : Powerbutton and alienhead wont light up

Try en- and disabling the AlienFX with [Fn]+[F11].



Did you diassemble the system lately? Any software changes/reinstallation of the OS recently?

Reply 2 : Powerbutton and alienhead wont light up

Its been like this for a while, I thing it started when I was using a morphing theme.



Tried disabling and enabling earlier today, which didnt help.

Even tried changing color, which didnt fix it either.



Now I tried again, and it seems that the new color+reset worked



Thanks a lot!

+rep

Reply 3 : Powerbutton and alienhead wont light up

Glad it worked! AlienFX always was and still is buggy...

no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

cannot create a system restore point, get message system restore could not be created restore point Ox80042308

Reply 1 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

May be your system in system protection,It doesn't allow you to create restore point.follow these steps to create restore point http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/3195/create-a-system-restore-point-in-windows-7/

Reply 2 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

Thanks for the reply will let you know if it works
Gary

Reply 3 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

Followed your advice and still could not create a restore point

Reply 4 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

Maybe "Microsoft Software Shadow Copy Provider" service or the "Volume Shadow Copy" service. When you do, you also turned off Win7 System Restore which then depleted all saved restore points.

By re-enabling services mentioned, your System Restore should also be re-enabled without any previous point(s) saved.

Or is it possible you've run out of SR space on the computer.. You may need to re-allocate space for SR (Control Panel-System icon-System Protection link on left, Configure tab)... or... remove some of the old SR points before making new ones.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Reply 5 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

where do i locate shadow copy provider or volume shadow copy service
Thanks Grif for the help
Gary

Reply 6 : no system restore point in Windows 7 home edition premium

...type "services.msc" in the "Search" window, then press the "Enter" key.

Hope this helps.

Grif

Monday, March 21, 2011

Trusteer Rapport

What do you guys think about Trusteer Rapport software? I can't find too much information on it but apparently a bunch of banks are now using it so that must mean something.




Quote:







Features



* Blocks Zeus, Torpig, Silent Banker and other Man-in-the-Browser attacks

* Blocks Keyloggers and screen grabbing

* Blocks Man-in-the Middle attacks

* Blocks Phishing attacks

* Works on both Windows and Mac

* Protects immediately upon install

* Complements other security software


Reply 1 : Trusteer Rapport

Usefull app for browser hardening.

Especially https traffic of course, can be compared with (also free) Prevx SOL.

You can check this WildersSecurity thread for more info, especially the remarks by Kees1958 are useful on how to use it's full potential.

I haven't tried it for quite a while so check it's resource usage as mentioned in the thread.

Reply 2 : Trusteer Rapport

Interesting. I got 6 gigs of RAM so I'm not worried about that. As long as it makes browsing a little safer I'm happy.

Saturday, March 19, 2011

RAM DDR2 667 MHz or 800 MHz ...?

hi guys ,,

i am a newbie here ..

i will buy a ram 2 GB DDR2 for may labtop ( acer - aspire 5930 ) ...

but when i had gone to store i found 2 types of DDR2 ( 667 MHZ or 800 MHZ ) ..



how can i know what is the suitable for my labtop ... ?

also from where i can find the speciefic features for my labtop ? itry to find in ACER.COM but i didnt find anything ..?



if i choose to buy DDR2-800 , is there any risk if the suitable is 667 MHz ...by means can i mix between 2 memory ( one 667 MHz and the other is 800 MHz ) ..?

Reply 1 : RAM DDR2 667 MHz or 800 MHz ...?

Get the 800mhz ram. Yes you can mix 800mhz with 667mhz ram (they will both run at the slower frequency).

Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

Windows Vista had updates, so I let it update. My system crashed and won't boot. I put the factory boot disk in to system restore, but the disk drive won't read the disk. Help?

Reply 1 : Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

the BIOS is not set to read the CD/DVD drive first?

The BIOS has an 'order' in which is listed what drives to attempt to read first. Often this 'should' be the optical drive, (CD/DVD drive), and if it finds no disk there it then goes onto find the hard drive. But sometimes the BIOS is set to read direct from the hard drive first. In which case it will never see the disk in the optical drive during boot up.

If that is the case here you will have to enter the BIOS to change the order of the bootup so that the CD/DVD drive is listed first.

If the BIOS is already set to do that, (and it should be on modern systems), then either the optical drive has failed, or that "Boot Disk" is not a boot disk, or the boot disk has failed.

CD/DVD disks do fail and when that happens we can try to 'copy' the disk to another and try again. That sometimes works.

If the optical drive has failed then you need to replace it.

If the boot disk is not a boot disk, then the BIOS will not boot from it, but that should give an error message similar to, "Please insert system disk".

As to Vista, at what stage does it fail to load? Can you access Vista's "Safe Mode" options?

Mark

Reply 2 : Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

When I push the power button it takes me to the screen that says Windows wasn't shut down properly and asks how I want to load. I have tried every option and every time it flashes a blue screen that changes before I can read it. Then it takes me back to the page asking how I want to load Windows. The boot disk I have I pulled right out of the factory package, seals and everything. It is genuine.

Reply 3 : Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

There's a certain time window between you pushing the power button and Windows saying it wasn't shut down properly. Let's say that that's 15 seconds. Then if you keep toggling the key that activates the BIOS setup (could delete or escape or f2 or f10, should be in the manual of the PC or motherboard which key or even key combination it is, or it's shown on the screen, something like "Press del to enter setup") you come into the BIOS. Can't miss.
Then navigate to the page that defines the boot order and set that to CD first. Then boot from the Vista CVD or the recovery DVD and start your repair.

Kees

Reply 4 : Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

I read your posts twice and missed what PC this is. Maybe there's a key to press or maybe not?
Bob

Reply 5 : Windows Vista crashed, disk drive not working

HP Pavilion 9500v. I cannot get it to go to BIOS.

Need a free software blocking program...

Hi..I need to find a good free program that will allow me to block the installation of certain software. I guess it would do this by requiring a password to install the program (and to uninstall itself). Anyone have any good recommendations? Thanks

Reply 1 : Need a free software blocking program...

http://www.pchelpforum.com/general-software/106406-need-free-software-blocking-program.html tells how we can do this block today with 7.

But you want more than that.

http://www.addictivetips.com/windows-tips/stopprevent-installation-in-windows-7/ notes PARENTAL CONTROLS!

We're getting close and have yet to install more software.

Reading http://icrontic.com/forum/showthread.php?p=780353 which might be you has me agree with others that you should use the two above solutions in tandem.

STAY TUNED to http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/forums/topic385858.html and see what shows up.
Bob

RAM compatibility

Will this ram work with the ASUS A8V MOTHERBOARD?

http://cgi.ebay.com/2GB-PC3200-DDR-2X-1GB-3200-400-DESKTOP-MEMORY-RAM-NEW-/110543935109?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item19bcee9685

This ram is high-density, therefore I'm not sure about the compatibility with the motherboard.

Reply 1 : RAM compatibility

"As a rule of thumb it seems safest to assume that no Asus or Intel boards (with the exception of the 915) will work with High Density RAM."

http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20080117015714953&board_id=1&model=A8V+Deluxe&page=1&SLanguage=en-us

Browsing the web on Samsung LED TV

I noticed already that Samsung does not offer a browser on the TV.

I connected the laptop to the TV in the hope I could share my screen with the TV. This way I could browse the web, watch VOD etc. using the laptop but viewing all on my TV.

The PC share manager only allows showing on the TV files from selected folders.

Does anyone has any advice how I could show my laptop screen on the Samsung TV?

Also, I should note that I am after connecting via the wireless link and not by cables.

Thank you for your help!

Reply 1 : Browsing the web on Samsung LED TV

For what you suspected. To give wireless HDMI you have to research Wireless HDMI on google. It's not cheap.

In fact the new WIDI (see google) that comes in some laptops would be something to keep an eye on in case they ever make that available as an addon.
Bob

Reply 2 : Browsing the web on Samsung LED TV

lindsayathome,

To show your desktop on the screen would require one of two cables - HDMI or PC.

If you want to wirelessly show your desktop, that's an entirely different piece of equipment, and we don't support that feature. That would be a third-party solution.

--HDTech

Acronis, Ghost, or what?

What do readers here recommend for Backup software?



I heard that the Backup app in Windows 7 is much better than in earlier Windows versions. Do people find it sufficient, or better to use a third party backup app?



How do the latest versions of Acronis True Image and Norton Ghost compare with one another? Any other competitors in that field?



One thing I didnt like when I had an older Acronis version installed before, is that it had background services and drivers running all the time, even when not in use. Is that necessary? (For instance, I would not do any automatic backups, but only when I choose to.)



I like that the disc imaging apps create an image, that can totally restore a failed system, to what it was at the time of the backup. One disadvantage though, if I recall correctly, is that if one has done a disk defrag, and then does the type of backup (I forget what it is called) where only new and changed files are backed up, that since the disk imaging apps backup sectors rather than files, that since files are moved in a defrag, it ends up backing up much more than necessary, due to the sectors having been changed. Also, due to slack, backing up sectors ends up taking up more space than backing up files. I am not sure about that though. Can someone explain--are the disadvantages I described above for image backup correct?



Which app do people find works best for them for backup, and why?

Reply 1 : Acronis, Ghost, or what?

I use Windows 7's backup to make system image once it is stabalized(i.e. necessary programs installed and SP1 applied). Then nightly automatic backup of user data.



Meet my needs and simple to setup.

Reply 2 : Acronis, Ghost, or what?

Ive used acronis. And my western digital that came with the acer had three partitions. was able to clone all partitions the same size on another drive and delete all 3 partitions on the western digital so I can use all of it, was very simple and easy.

Reply 3 : Acronis, Ghost, or what?

Using acronis free (10.2?), it's simple and effective. It doesn't run any background services or whatever, the compression levels are decent (~35% compression) and it is able to restore individual partitions, boot off a recovery disc ect.



Win7's backup feature is much better than previous versions, but it just doesn't do the comprehensive stuff like MBR backups, differential partitions and so on. It's probably enough for an average home user, but I already have acronis so what the hell.

Reply 4 : Acronis, Ghost, or what?

I like Acronis, never tried Ghost.

There was a nice deal recently @newegg on Acronis 2011 (Home Edition) for around $9.99 AR.

Reformatting a laptop that's had multiple OS's installed

So, I have this three year old laptop I may sell or donate. I bought it with Vista Premium installed. I was one of the early adopters for Windows 7 and downloaded it on the day of its debut. Six months later I purchased an upgraded to Win7 Pro.

I'd like to sell the laptop or give it to a family member, and there's just so much weird configuring and files I've forgotten about, I should just reformat the drive and reinstall the OS.

If I want to make sure Win 7 Pro is installed, what's the process for reformatting? Do I install the Vista OS, then reinsall Win 7 (I think I can access a backup download), then install the Anytime upgrade, or is there a way I can make a system recovery disk of the system at its present state, and reinstall the OS from the recovery disk?

Borderlands on R1?

What are the FPS you guys get on Borderlands? Could please tell the settings as well? because I really want to buy this game. Also, not a compulsory question, but can you mod the game? Thanks

Reply 1 : Borderlands on R1?

im getting very good FPS on all high settings

Reply 2 : Borderlands on R1?


Quote:








Originally Posted by PapaAlfrego
View Post

im getting very good FPS on all high settings



Could you be more specific.

Reply 3 : Borderlands on R1?

I usually get 40-60 on high textures and max resolution, with everything else low or off.



Heres a video, and I just realized that my cam was off center. -_-

YouTube - Borderlands on M11x R1





It's definitely worth the buy.





EDIT: Yeah, you can mod it, but there aren't really any good mods out. The only good stuff I've found is a save editor and a weapon editor. That's plenty for me, though. Borderlands is super fun without mods.

Reply 4 : Borderlands on R1?


Quote:








Originally Posted by halo45121
View Post

I usually get 40-60 on high textures and max resolution, with everything else low or off.



Heres a video, and I just realized that my cam was off center. -_-

YouTube - Borderlands on M11x R1





It's definitely worth the buy.





EDIT: Yeah, you can mod it, but there aren't really any good mods out. The only good stuff I've found is a save editor and a weapon editor. That's plenty for me, though. Borderlands is super fun without mods.



Ah, thanks for the info! +Rep to you!

Friday, March 18, 2011

Update Manager - General Error

Windows 7
AVG 9.0.872
Virus DB 271.1.1/3511
I also have Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware installed
I get the general error message five minutes after "preparing to install update"

Log: http://www.mediafire.com/?nazv4k6zr343l4y

Reply 1 : Update Manager - General Error

Download the latest of both those items then uninstall both and reinstall both then update again.

I've lost count.
Bob

Reply 2 : Update Manager - General Error

AVG uninstall failed.

Local machine: installation failed
Initialization:
Error: Checking of state of the item file avgupd.dll failed.
The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error. %FILE% = "C:Program Files (x86)AVGAVG9avgupd.dll"

Reply 3 : Update Manager - General Error

Are notes about how to remove AVG when the normal method fails. Let me google that.

http://forums.cnet.com/7723-19703_102-370070.html is a recent answer.
Bob

Reply 4 : Update Manager - General Error

This solved my problem, thanks!

Installing IE9 over IE8 - option for 32 and 64 bit install?

Hey everyone, I'm about to give IE9 final version a try on my Acer netbook with Win7 x64, as described in my sig. The PC came loaded with the 32 and 64 bit versions of IE8, I primarily use the 32 bit version since I view a lot of flash content, but I fire up the 64 bit one once in a while. Is there a way to install both versions of IE9 over the two versions of IE8, or will I need to pick one? Or install them both separately?



Also has Adobe made any progress getting a plugin for 64 bit IE out there?



Thanks in advance.

Reply 1 : Installing IE9 over IE8 - option for 32 and 64 bit install?

Everything works in all 64bit browsers.

Reply 2 : Installing IE9 over IE8 - option for 32 and 64 bit install?

When you install, it's for 32bit or 64bit versions of Windows. So, download in install the 64bit version, it will contain both 32 and 64 of ie9. The 32 version is the default and the 64 can only partly be made the default browser. Under benchmarking, it does not perform as well as the 32 version.

Reply 3 : Installing IE9 over IE8 - option for 32 and 64 bit install?

Thanks for the info, guys.

Acer Aspire 5580 No longer booting after bios upgrade

HI guys,



Was wondering if someone could give me some pointers, I followed This Link and tried to flash my bios using one of the files found when searching that first page for "5580".



So it was booting previous to flashing with that file, and now no longer goes.

If i boot up normally, it just powers up, turns the fan onto full, and sit there...

So i used Wincrisis to make a thumbdrive recovery disk (using the bios file from acer), and plugged that in. Did the steps (fn+esc), and now the boot sequence is to power up and then the fan goes quiet. But it's not reading off the disk (can't see the activity light working).



I've come to the semi-conclusion that the boot-block is screwed and that i'll probably need to remove the flash memory off the mother board or something like that? I'm a hardware guy, so that's really not a problem to do that.



Does anyone have any other solutions??



Thanks kindly!



Grant

Thursday, March 17, 2011

Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I just got a 52 in Samsung A650 and I am hoping to listen to my ipod through the tv, via a docking station. The dock has a line out jack and from it I have a monster cable that splits into the red/blue audio cables...I was hoping that I could hook those cables into one of the tv inputs and listen to the ipod through the tv's speakers. I am able to watch and listen to videos from the ipod via the dock and the S Video outlets on the tv...but cannot get just audio. Any support is greatly appreciated. The tv rocks, b/t/w!

Reply 1 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

You actually can directly connect your iPod or any other portable media player using the set's side USB port -- from there, you can access the player using the WiseLink menu and then be able to play the music files, though you won't be able to play the video files.

Have you tried the audio connection to any other new TV?

Reply 2 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I like the setup...more interactive than I was expecting and the sound is all I need for my apartment. I'm going to look into accessing my playlists on the ipod - at lunch I wasn't able to play them through the tv...I'm thinking a/b creating a "dummy" genre b/c I don't use that field much anyway; therefore, I could essentially assign a genre to the songs that would organize them like a playlist. Kind of more work than I want and not too cool, but have any other suggestions on how to access the playlists?? Thank!

Reply 3 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Just got my Samsung 650 and have been really impressed with it. When I plug my iPod Touch into the USB WiseLink port, the TV recognizes it as an iPod, but when I choose "Music" on the TV screen, I get a message that says no music files are found. It also says my iPod is empty. Does anyone have experience with this? What am I doing wrong?

Reply 4 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Just got my Samsung 650 and have been really impressed with it. When I plug my iPod Touch into the USB WiseLink port, the TV recognizes it as an iPod, but when I choose "Music" on the TV screen, I get a message that says no music files are found. It also says my iPod is empty. Does anyone have experience with this? What am I doing wrong?

Reply 5 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I read the other comments but suggestions do not work. I have USB connection and only podcasts are recognized but not music. Any ideas

Reply 6 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Mine is a series 5 so i had turn on wisevid etc in the setup menu because yours is a 6 its already on, just mentioning it because it may by why mine works the way it does. When i plug my ipod in through the usb cable. The music folder shows no music to get to it, i go through ipod_control, then music, then it appears as if you were accessing it from my computer on desktop in retarded folders, ex. F00 F01, i can play the music, though its just not in any particular order so its hard to find any one song i want. Anyone know how to be able to ascess it and have it appear in some sembilence of order ie, albums together or artists?

Reply 7 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

the only way i can probably listen to the iphone is thru the audio/headphone plug to the audio plug on the TV

Reply 8 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

TV recognizes that I've plugged in an iPhone via USB, but when the wiselink menu pops up with all the departments: audio, video, etc. I go into music and there are no tracks listed. I get an error saying nothing was found.

Reply 9 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

i spoke to a samsumg tech and he stated that there is no option to connect the i-pod to the TV. However, you can connect your iPod to most Samsung TVs using either a proprietary Apple Composite AV or Component AV adaptor cable or Samsung's iPod Data Transmission adapter cable, part # BN96-03624A. If you are using the I-pod as a mass storage device, then the TV detects the i-pod, but you cannot access the files in that as the TV do not support this.

Reply 10 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

i had the same problem . but i found out the solution:
1- choose MUSIC.
2- click SORTING button in the remote control(blue button)
3- choose TITLE or ARTIST.
4- choose the A B C ... or the name of the artist you want to listen to.
5- choose the song you want to listen. you can choose more than one song using TOOLS buttom .

hope you enjoy you TV happy BTW, i just bought my new samsung TV yesterday. it's 6 series and i love it .

your friend Mohammed.

Reply 11 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

S-Video does not carry audio, so to watch videos from your iPod and docking station you must have yhe S-Video and 2 audio cables connected to your TV. Just curious if this is how you currently have your dock station hooked up, and if it is, what happens if you unplug the S-Video cable while watching videos. Do you still get audio? If so, but you can't get audio while simply trying to listen to an iPod playlist of audio-only, then I'm stumped.

Reply 12 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Thanks for the reply. The audio cables are red and blue (2) and those go into the tv while the other end is 1 that goes into the lineout jack of the dock. When hooked up w/ the S-Video, I can view/listen to videos from the ipod on the tv; however, as soon as I unplug the s-video cable, nothing. It seems that the tv will only recognize the device if the video is connected and receiving.

I plugged the ipod into the tv via usb and listened to it that way; however, I can only listen by artist/title/genre -- can't access my playlists...oh well.

Thanks again!

Reply 13 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I have the 650 series TV and an ipod classic 32GB and when I plug it into the USB slot i get to view the pics but cannot listen to my music. I tells me there is no music file? I have over 700 songs and lots of movies on it so what am I doing wrong. Maybe it has been explained above and I missed it but I cant get it to work. Please help

Reply 14 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Don't laugh, but I simply use a cable that has a mini-headphone jack on one end and two RCA plugs on the other end. I plug the headphone jack into my iPod then plug the RCA into any Audio-Input jacks on the TV that aren't being used. I can then listen to my iPod on the TV after selecting the proper Input to hear the audio. The TV input wants to see video of course, but there's just a blank screen while I listen to music.

Reply 15 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Hi,

I have a new 46" Samsung 650 series. I have an iPhone connected to a universal doc. I use component cables to connect my iPhone/Dock to the TV.

I also have an Airport Express with an Air Tunes port on it. I use just an audio RCA cable from the Airport to a second A/V input on my TV.

In both instances, if video is not included in the audio I'm trying to play, than the TV says no signal. But there is a signal -- just audio. The audio is indeed playing because when I "trick" the TV into thinking there is a video signal (by feeding it a random video signal from something else) I can hear my music from iPhone and Air Tunes.

Why can I not just play the audio? In other words, why doesn't the Samsung TV recognize the audio alone? Why does it need a video signal too? Isn't there a way to use the TV to playback just audio through its speakers? There simply must be a way to accomplish this without having to also send a video signal.

Bummed Out,

Matt

Reply 16 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

You say that you use "Component" cables to connect your iPod dock to the TV. This makes sense to send video and audio, but just for audio, can you choose to not connect the video portion of this cable and only use the two audio cables? I not sure it's your TV. I've had DVD players connected to my TV via component and have unplugged the video cables from that input, and I still got audio. To test your TV input connection to see if it will play only audio, do you have a cable for you iPhone that plugs into the mini plug and splits into two RCA plugs (Red & White)? Trying this would at least narrow down the problem. Also, try a different input on your TV. Instead of using one of the component inputs, use one of the inputs that only has the three RCA plugs (Yellow=video, White & Red = audio) and simply use the red and white plugs to test it. This should work.

Reply 17 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Ok, here's my update. And let's simplify my earlier scenario a bit. Here's what we're looking at:

-- 1 mini male to two RCA-end audio male cable (audio 1/8 inch to RCA converter cable)

-- 1 ipod touch with mini audio jack output

-- Samsung flat panel with audio inputs associated with each of the following:

1 Component input; 2nd Component input; 1 composite input

I got the iPod going and proceeded to try each inputs without video cables attached in each case -- just the audio cable from my iPod. No go in each case. TV says "no signal." I had headphones to check the iPod -- there was an audio signal.

Conclusion -- $1,300, 46" Samsung TV cannot just play audio without a video feed accompaniment. Big Bummer there Sammy my boy! Come on guys, what gives? :

Work around if you have a universal iPod dock with component video / RCA audio cable:

1. Connect Universal dock to component A/V cable.
2. Connect A/V cable to component in on the Sammy Tube.
3. Mount iPod in the dock.
4. While mounted, start the iPod app and play an mp3. (TV should still say "no signal")
5. While ipod continues to play in the background --> close out of the iPod app and .open the camera app.
6. Navigate to one of the camera's galleries (you'll need some photos on there) and start the slide show feature playing.

The slide show starts and successfully sends a video signal up the video portion of your cable and the TV recognizes this just fine. Now here the key part:

8. Press pause on the slide show once it's starts or else it will cycle through your photos and stop --> thus terminating the video signal --> thus audio goes away.

Better load some art photos on the pod because you'll be staring at pretty big photo while your music plays.

Not perfect, but not a train wreck. In the meantime, Samsung, great TV, but add some auxiliary audio inputs on this thing. Thanks.

Reply 18 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

When you use the Mini-to-RCA cable to connect your iPod to the TV, are you connecting it directly to the iPod or are you using the Dock? If using the Dock, try connecting the iPod without it and plug the Mini into the headphone jack and the RCA's into the TV. I think you did it this way from reading your last post, but I wasn't sure. If it still won't work connecting it directly, then something is not right. I connect my iPod Touch all the time to my two Sony's and my Toshiba and I get audio with no problem. It's hard to belived that the Samsung won't pass audio without video. The are using completely different paths and are not involved with each other. And just to make sure, you are playing music from your Playlists in the Touch?

Reply 19 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Yeah it was a direct connect from iPod to TV. Amazing I know. But to the best of my knowledge this is the case. Doesn't matter if it's an ipod -- any audio source not accompanied by a video signal is ignored by the TV.

I've never owned a TV that doesn't play any normal A/V signal you send it. Must be some new digital recognition firmware. This "smart" device feature needs to be updated to also look for audio signals.

My fix is also far from ideal: I can't see the songs playing, I can't leave the slide show to do other things while playing and many music apps (like LastFM) turn off when you leave the app.

Reply 20 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

1. On your iPod go to Photos, select a photo, hit the play button. It should bring to to a TV out screen and there you go. Your photos will play like a slide show.

2. If music doesn't play:
You just have to go to Photo settings, music, pick the music you want to play.

3. Execute step 1.

I really like this as a solution.

......Or just plug it directly to your sound system.

Reply 21 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Your situation (Airport Express wanting to use with an input to a new Samsung LCD) is exactly what I am faced with as well. And, just as you, I can't believe that they have tied the audio and video signals together so you have no option to just listen to the audio input. The TV is fantastic in many respects, and serves as the director of all the inputs to my (rather input-limited) receiver, so this limitation is both surprising and quite disappointing.

I would be most appreciative if anyone has figured a workaround. I have tried just connecting various cables to different inputs, but the TV is "smart" enough to recognize there is no video fed and therefore refuses to play the audio. The feature makes enough sense - I can see where it has its place. I just am surprised that such a feature-rich television has no ability to turn this OFF to regain functionality which would be present on any cheaper unit.

Reply 22 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

From all I can tell, the iPod won't work. One (relatively) simple fix I've found is a flash drive. They're fairly cheap. It's smaller capacity, but it should do you. Just go into iTunes and convert the files you went to mp3, then put them on the flash, connect the flash to the TV. The Samsung media reads the mp3 files like a charm -- plays them nicely, too.

Reply 23 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I have the Samsung 6 series 630 40 inch tv... same problem- it is a great tv, but this is kinda lame.

my solution: (similar to fix above)
I hooked up my old 30 GB ipod headphone jack directly to the AV cables using a 3.5mm -> av cable. To get video, I have my PS2 turned on (without cd) and hooked up with video only and the screen has the 'setup display' so I don't have to look at any specific photo- it works as a screensaver. I can also plug in my ipod to the PS2 to charge it simultaneously with USB.

When I want to listen to XM radio, I'll move headphone from ipod to XM instead.

When I want to play PS2 (less frequently than audio), I just replug the audio in... or listen to my ipod while playing.

This is a downside to this tv along with the restrictions on PIP. PIP can only be antenna or coax and there is no way to swap pictures, but you can swap audio. to beat this, I am currently looking for a way to get PS2 HDMI cable (doubt it exists).

Reply 24 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I have exactly the same problem. Did you ever find out how to fix? If so can you advise. Samsung 650 have been of little help.

Reply 25 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

I would be very interested in what answer you get from the Samsung experts. I have four different HDTVs and all can play audio from my iPod. This issue with Sammys is very weird.

Reply 26 : Trouble Playing iPod Through Samsung 6 Series LCD

Their advice so far has been tu upgrade the firmware. That in itself is proving tortuous and I have not yet got that working.